2015 – IAEP Member-At-large Nominations

Nominations are now being solicited for the position of Member-at-Large on the Executive Committee of the International Association for Environmental Philosophy, effective immediately on election. This position will replace Brian Treanor, who we thank for his two terms of service on the Executive Committee. 

Members-at-Large participate in the decision-making process of the Executive Committee as well as on the Program Committee (which reviews submissions for the annual conference). The term of office is three years, during which Members-at-Large will normally be expected to attend each of the Association’s annual meetings. 

The Executive Committee has nominated Bryan Bannon for this position. Bryan (Memphis, ’09) is Associate Professor of Philosophy and the Director of the Environmental Studies and Sustainability Program at Merrimack College in Andover, MA. His research draws primarily from phenomenological, feminist, and existential sources to write about issues in environmental philosophy such as how ethical ideas influence environmental action, how environmental art shapes our perception of the environment, and how different conceptions of nature inform our normative decisions about the environment.  His book, From Mastery to Mystery (Ohio UP, 2014), deals with this last theme, and he has published articles in Environmental Ethics, Ethics & the Environment, and Environmental Philosophy among others. He regularly teaches courses relating to sustainability issues, environmental aesthetics, and restoration ecology. 

All members of IAEP are invited and encouraged to submit other nominations, including self-nominations, for this position. If you nominate someone else, please obtain the nominee’s approval first. All nominations will remain confidential. The deadline for nominations is Monday, November 30th.  If there are additional nominations, short bios of the other candidates will be distributed and an election will be conducted by email. 

Nominations from the membership will be accepted only if the person nominated and the person making the nomination are both current IAEP members.  Likewise, election ballots will only be distributed to those whose membership is current.  If you have not already done so, you may renew your annual membership through the Philosophy Documentation Center at https://www.pdcnet.org/iaep

For the current members of IAEP’s Executive Committee or other information about the organization, please visit https://environmentalphilosophy.org/ 

Please send nominations to Ted Toadvine at the email address below:

 Ted Toadvine, toadvine@uoregon.edu
Chair pro tempore, Board of Directors
International Association for Environmental Philosophy